Stephanie Marinus - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Stephanie Marinus

Stephanie Marinus | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 21

Height: 5'6"

Hometown: SE Highriver

BIO: Stephanie Marinus, founder of “Here for Hope Charity Services” is an ambitious young woman with many passions including journalism, guitar, acting and event planning.

Stephanie is a graduate from Capilano University with a diploma in the Legal Studies program. She also received a Bridal Consulting Certificate from Ashworth University.

Stephanie likes to keep busy, getting the most out of each day, and spends her free time with her family.

Stephanie is constantly striving for self improvement, as she believes that through hard work and dedication, everyone can reach their true potential.

Stephanie also believes that community involvement should be a priority for any role model, and hopes that she can help the younger generations realize that age is no barrier when it comes to the difference that any individual can make.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

Only English

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I have a wide variety of interests; I like to try new things as much as possible. I enjoy camping with my family, fishing, acting, playing guitar, writing, travelling and working out. My next adventure will be learning to direct the short film that I recently wrote. Above all, the thing I enjoy the most, is spending time with my family.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)


Acting for Theatre

Acting for T.v. and Film

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

In my youth I participated in soccer. Since graduating University, the team sports I have participated in are Baseball and Dodgeball.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

The one person, other than my parents, whom has had the most influence on my life, is my grandmother Lillian Sims. Throughout my whole life I have had a very close relationship with my grandma, and to this very day she is still one of my closest friends. She is a strong-minded woman with high morals and a big heart. She has taught me to always be true to myself and to stand up for what I know is right. Of the many pieces of advice my grandmother has given me over the past years, the one that has stuck with me the most is: “Never do anything today that you do not want to see on the front page of tomorrow’s newspaper.”

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest personal accomplishment is turning my words and ideas into actions and starting an open-concept charity organization called “Here for Hope Charity Services.” I am excited to say that my group and I have bought a web domain and look forward to completing our website. We are currently establishing the Board of Directors. I am so proud to have turned something I have dreamt about doing for years, into a reality.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

An interesting fact about me is that I have 10 brothers and 2 sisters. This fact often shocks people when they hear it. I come from a large family and wouldn’t trade them for the world. Besides, having 10 brothers and 2 sisters can be quite entertaining around the dinner table.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career ambition is to be my own boss and to become a successful and inspirational business woman. I know that I have the entrepreneurial skills and leadership abilities to do so, and will continue to take different courses to further myself in the direction of my goal.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job is to own my own business while maintaining a healthy balance between my work and family life.

Are you currently a student?

I will be returning to school this year to obtain my Real Estate License.

Area of study:

Real Estate

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I am currently handling the home insurance portion of my company.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was raised in a small town in Northern British Columbia with an emphasis on strong family values and individual morals. I am proud to have come from a small town as I believe it fired my ambitious personality

List any volunteering you have done.

I volunteer for both “Feed the Hungry” and “In From the Cold” here in Calgary. I have also founded an open concept charity organization and plan to develop it further within the next year. Growing up in 100 Mile House, I put on a few benefit concerts to raise money for the youth group as well as for a young boy with Ewing’s Sarcoma Syndrome.

What is your most unusual talent?

My sister says my singing…and by “unusual” she means “lack thereof”.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

When I was fourteen years old I had the opportunity to travel Europe with a couple members of my family. I went to France, Belgium, Holland, and Scotland. Yet the most interesting place will always be my family’s dinner table during the holidays. With all my siblings’ different personalities at one table- it is always quite entertaining.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years I will have achieved my goal of owning my own business and maintaining a healthy balance between my work life and my family life. In addition to this I hope to travel more and inspire more young women to let go of their insecurities and go after what they want in life as I have.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".