Katie Starke - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Katie Starke

Katie Starke | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 21

Height: 5'11"

Hometown: Uxbridge

BIO: Katie is currently in her 3rd year at York University where she is on a full scholarship.

Once Katie graduates with her undergraduate degree in business she plans to gain experience in this industry and continue her education further, completing her Masters in Business Administration (MBA).

Successful businesswomen like Susan Arnold have inspired Katie to value education and set high goals for her future.

On top of education Katie also values her family. She is the oldest of 4 siblings and grew up in Uxbridge, Ontario.

Each day Katie strives to lead by example by being a strong, independent and hard working woman.

She feels very proud and fortunate to live in a country where women are valued and given equal opportunities to pursue their dreams. Katie believes today’s women can be anything they want to be.

Katie’s favourite activities include playing hockey; she has played since she was five years old. Her hard work and practice over the years has earned her an athletic scholarship at York University to play on the Women’s Ice Hockey team. She also enjoys: yoga, hiking, running and biking. Being active and physically fit is an important aspect of each and every day. In the near future, Katie plans to run a marathon.

Other interests include charity work. In particular, Katie enjoys supporting causes that directly affect women such as women’s cancers and women’s shelters. As well, Katie supports concussion awareness, an issue affecting many hockey players today. Katie is a spokesperson for Stopconcussions.com.

In 2008, Katie was crowned Miss Teen Canada–World and now hopes to be able to represent Canada as Miss Universe Canada 2012; it would be a great honour and a dream come true.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Being physically active, spending time with my family and friends, attending university and keeping up with current events and political affairs. I enjoy being outdoors and spending time with my dogs as well. In the future, I hope to learn a new language.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Professionally trained ice hockey player

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

11 years of competitive hockey
10 years of competitive track and cross-country running at local and provincial levels.
6 years of competitive basketball and soccer.
3 years of baseball.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

My university hockey coach, Dan Church. Dan instilled important values such as: dedication, integrity, team play and leadership. Dan is currently the coach of the Women’s National Olympic team.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

Earning an academic and athletic scholarship to attend York University.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

I have travelled to every Canadian province except Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. I am an extremely proud Canadian and one-day hope to travel to every territory as well.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

I hope to work in the in the financial industry and follow in the footsteps of successful businesswomen such as Ursula Burns. Currently I am pursuing an undergraduate business degree in finance with plans to complete an MBA in the future.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would allow for personal development and fulfillment while providing financial security, excitement and growth opportunities. One of my favourite quotes, “ choose a job that you love and you will never work a day in your life”.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

York University

Area of study:


Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was raised in Uxbridge, Ontario and I am the oldest of four siblings. I have two sisters and one brother, and two dogs. I attended Goodwood Public School and Uxbridge Secondary School. Growing up, I was very athletic, each year my dad built a backyard rink; to this day it is the best rink in the neighbourhood. Uxbridge was an amazing place to grow up as it offered community, opportunities and the resources necessary to build a solid foundation for the future.

List any volunteering you have done.

2010-Current: SOS Children’s Villages

2008-Current: Toronto Sick Kid’s Foundation

2010: The Redwood Shelter

2009: Weekend to End Breast Cancer

2008-Current: Various community sport teams

What is your most unusual talent?

I can shoot a hockey puck as hard as most male hockey players.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

Managua, Nicaragua

Meeting the children of the SOS Children’s Village was the most interesting and memorable experience of my life.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years from now I hope to have an established career and a family. I hope to have travelled to ten different counties including: South Africa, Australia, Germany and Sweden, while still living in Canada.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I was born on Canada Day
In 2008 I was Miss Teen Canada

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".