Kyra Weston - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Kyra Weston

Kyra Weston | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 19

Height: 5'5"

Hometown: Calgary

BIO: Kyra Weston is an ambitious 19 year-old from Calgary, Alberta. Kyra’s studies at the university of Calgary include a communications degree with a business minor, in addition to a certificate in interior design.

She keeps busy as an active member of the University of Calgary cheerleading team.

Kyra loves the adventure of new experiences and especially enjoys travelling. Her family is spread across Canada, the United States and Europe.

She embraces opportunities to learn about other cultures and hopes to continue learning about the diversity of our world through future travel.

She loves the city life, but Kyra’s love for country music show that she’s a true country girl at heart.

She loves nature and being around animals, particularly horse and dogs. She has a compassionate and caring personality and a genuine concern for others.

Her family and friends are very important to her, and her bubby personality enables her to make new friends wherever she goes.

Kyra’s an accomplished artist, who has also participated in competitive soccer, gymnastics and equestrian events. She enjoys volunteering her time as a cheerleading coach, helping young women enhance their self-confidence and team player spirit.

Following the completion of her studies at the university of Calgary, Kyra is excited to pursue her entrepreneurial passion by creating multiple businesses -- linked in some way to the design and real estate industry. She hopes to have a life filled with successful relationships, businesses, and life long learning about herself, art, culture and design. Along the way, Kyra hopes to empower as many young women to pursue their own passions and live life to the fullest.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

English, French (understand German)

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I love to play club sports including my favorites: cheerleading and soccer

Art (painting and design)

Spending time with family and friends

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Cheerleading (throughout high school and university level)

Art (Graduated from high school with a certificate in fine arts)

Soccer (high school level and club soccer)

Equestrian show jumping (pony club and competed at Spruce Meadows)

Gymnastics (competed at the millennium cup in Vancouver at age 11)

In what sports, if any, have you participated?


Competitive soccer

Equestrian show jumping

Rhythmic gymnastics


Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

Both of my grandmothers have had a significant influence in my life. They both came from difficult childhoods and they continue to inspire me with their stories of their past. They are both strong and independent women, and I continue to look up to them.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest accomplishment for myself would have been to participate in multiple soccer tournaments across Canada including a showcase tournament held in Vegas. I worked really hard to succeed in soccer and was able to make it to a significantly high level.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

No one would guess, but the most interesting thing about me is that I am the biggest fan of the tv show: “Frasier”. I could watch it all day and all night long.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career plan is to own multiple business in the interior design and real estate development industry. I plan to work for successful development companies to learn the most I can before embarking on my own entrepreneurial ventures.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would to be a tv host for my own personal interior design show.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

University of Calgary

Area of study:

Majoring in Communications, with a minor in business, in addition to a certificate in interior design.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. My childhood was wonderful; I was fortunate enough to have lived in multiple countries and to experience multiple cultures and environments.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

Last summer I worked as an executive assistant at a real estate development company. That was an amazing learning experience that I hope to have again, since that is the industry I would like to have a career in.

List any volunteering you have done.

Volunteer my time as an assistant coach in cheerleading. I coach young women that love the sport and I wish to help them achieve their cheerleading goals and passions.

What is your most unusual talent?

I do not know if this is a talent. However, I can talk in a southern accent for hours!

Where is athe most interesting place you have been?


What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

I hope to start my own family and to have a thriving career in the real estate and design industry.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".