Alicia George - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Alicia George

Alicia George | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 20

Height: 5'10"

Hometown: Surrey

BIO: Alicia is a very driven and compassionate woman who just entered into her third year as a full time student, towards a degree in economics as Kwantlen Polytechnic University and hopes to complete a joint Major in Economics and Business Administration at Simon Fraser University.

At 20 years old, Alicia has always had a passion for being creative and has always been an artistic, intelligent, well-rounded and respected young woman.

She also has an amazing work ethic by working as a customer service representative at Future Shop, as well as an office assistant at Canusa Wood Products in downtown Vancouver.

Not only does she work two jobs, but she also attends Kwantlen Polytechnic University as a full-time student working towards her degree.

On Alicia’s list of priorities, her family is number one. Coming from a very large family, having 5 brothers and sisters including a twin sister, as well as her loving parents, Alicia has always kept her family close at heart.

Growing up and following the footsteps of her older brother, Alicia has always had a very active lifestyle outside of school. Always being interested in running and being a part of a team, she joined various sports throughout her school years. The sport which she recognizes with the most would have to be rugby, which she played for four years and later went back and refereed and coached. By being on the Senior Girls Rugby team and in her last year being a captain, Alicia made extra effort to be a role model for the younger girls on the team. Not only was she someone the girls could look up to on the field but also off it.

Early on in high school Alicia participated in many different leadership courses and volunteering opportunities that presented themselves. She was always told that it was not about the recognition of others when doing a good deed, but the feeling that you got when doing something nice for someone else. Alicia volunteered with Hoops 4 Hope, a non-profit organization which created HIV and AIDS awareness in South Africa and Zimbabwe through sports and life skills camps.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Some of my interests are that I love to paint and find inspiration for those paintings in my spare time. I also love keep active my friends and family by laying pickup games of soccer or badminton here or there.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I haven’t had any specific training for painting but I have always excelled in art in high school and I’m now taking a couple painting classes in University which I have done very well in.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

For 4 years I played Senior Girls Rugby at my high school. I played as a Forward on the team and my position was weak and strong side Flanker. I also played Basketball as well as ran for the cross-country team.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

One person who has had the most influence in my life was my family friend, Patricia Little. Pat took care of me and my brothers and sisters growing up as our mother’s friend who babysat us 5 days a week. She was more than a babysitter; she was like a second mother and had an amazing personality and work ethic which later reflected on us. Her nickname was DooDoo and even to this day we still refer to her as this because it was a nickname given out of love. She was a huge inspiration in my life and I love her dearly. Pat was diagnosed with Brest Cancer and being as strong a woman as she was, she beat it. A couple years later when I was 12 years old, Pat passed away from a second battle with cancer and it has left a hole in my heart ever since. I wish she could have seen me graduate high school, taken pictures with me at Prom, and to have been able to see me now, in this competition; it would have made her so proud.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest personal accomplishment is learning how to drive because driving used to be something which terrified me, and I know that it also made my dad proud when I told him I passed.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most unique thing that has ever happened to me was travelling to another country alone with my twin sister and being able to experience a vacation outside of Canada with her because a lot had happened since the last time we spent time away from the family together and it was the experience of a lifetime. I was able to experience New York City with my twin sister and I felt so proud being alongside her because she never had flown anywhere or been to another country before we went to New York.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career ambition is to have graduated from Simon Fraser University with a Major in Economics and Business Administration, and to go straight from university into a large company which I would be able to excel at my job. Right now, to work towards my goal, I am completing courses towards the degree at Kwantlen Polytechnic University and I am in the midst of completing my transfer requirements to start the Fall 2012 semester at SFU. Once at SFU I hope to get into a co-op program where I am able to earn my degree as well as to have the opportunity to work in the field.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job in life would be putting my future economics degree to use at a large company and being able to be a powerful leader in my workplace. Although that doesn’t sound like an ideal job for most I would love to work my way up in a company like Will Smiths character, Chris Gardner , in the movie “The Pursuit of Happiness.”

Are you currently a student? Yes

If yes, where? Kwantlen Polytechnic University

Area of study: Economics

Are you currently employed? Yes.

If yes, what is your occupation? I am a customer service employee at Future Shop as well as an office assistant at Canusa Wood Products.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was raised in Vancouver, British Columbia with my 5 brothers and sisters and parents. We all grew up in a basement suit in Vancouver and later moved to a house with a lot more room in Surrey, British Columbia. My childhood was filled with family outings to different parks and attractions like the Aquarium or Science World. The summer time was always my favorite because my parents would always think of different things that we could all do as a family of 8.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

An interesting job that I’ve had would have to have been working at Grimm’s Fine Foods in the packaging department. I say it’s the most interesting because my dad had a condition for all of his children, once they turned 16 years old they went to work for the company he worked for, for the summer. Having to work at Grimm’s taught me the excellent work ethic that I use today in my various jobs.

List any volunteering you have done.

Since 2005 I volunteered with a non-profit organization called Hoops 4 Hope. Through sport, Hoops 4 Hope creates HIV and AIDS awareness in South Africa and Zimbabwe, as well as teaching them life skills through development camps and information centers. Not only is this done but throughout the year used sports equipment and shoes are collected and sent over to these camps to make sure the children have shoes and other pieces of equipment so they can have fun.

What is your most unusual talent?

My most unusual talent would have to be being able to excel at anything to do with art, whether it be painting or sculpture, or even gluing macaroni onto a piece of paper, I’ve seemed to have mastered being great at it.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

The most interesting place that I’ve been would have to be New York City last year. I went for a week to visit my aunt with my sister and had an amazing time experiencing New York like a real New Yorker.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In 10 years I hope to be spending quality time with my family and making sure their needs are taken care of. I ideally would like to be settled down with a loving husband, enjoying life and as well as my job, and continuing to give back to my community. No one really knows what life will hold in 10 years so ultimately I would like to continue to have a good head on my shoulders, to hold my values close to my heart and to continue to be the sweet and kind person I am because those are the things that you will always be able to hold on to in life, not the material items.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

The most unique thing about me is that I have a twin sister, Danielle, that looks nothing like me and is my complete opposite. She’s the best part about being me because I get to say I have an amazingly different sister like her. Although we may not always get along, we have a connection that runs deeper than anything that can be measured and I admire and look up to her and her strengths.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".