Mandi Gale - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Mandi Gale

Mandi Gale | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 22

Height: 5'4"

Hometown: Grand Falls-Windsor

BIO: Mandi recently graduated from Memorial University of Newfoundland with a Bachelor of Arts degree, majoring in both English and Religious Studies.

Hoping to one day work in the field of Social Work, Mandi is confident that her degree has equipped her with the skills necessary for such a career.

She is passionate about working with people and contributing to society in a positive way.

Volunteering in her community, and overseas, has been a habit of Mandi’s since the age of twelve; a habit instilled in her by her mother.

Most recently, she travelled to Malawi, Africa to volunteer at a children’s orphanage for two weeks.

Mandi has developed a long list of accomplishments. She is currently the reigning Miss Newfoundland and Labrador, and uses her reign to volunteer with a variety of charitable organizations, and is in the process of developing a self-esteem program encouraging girls to embrace what makes them different.

Mandi is also an accomplished athlete. In 2010 she competed in a bodybuilding competition, taking second place in her division.

She is passionate about health and fitness, and is working toward becoming a certified Personal Training Specialist. Believing that healthy living is an important component of being a confident individual, she wants to share her passion with those around her. With her sense of humor, positive attitude, and dedication it is hard to not be inspired by her.

Her motto: “Believe in yourself! Have faith in your abilities! Without a humble but reasonable belief in your own power you cannot be successful or happy.” –Norman Vincent Peale

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Cooking, Baking, Hiking, Weight lifting, Reading, Going to comedy shows, Socializing with close friends and family. Traveling, Writing, and studying Biblical History

I am very passionate about health and fitness. I enjoy exercising and experimenting with new ways to challenge the body, with both exercise and diet.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Interview Skills workshop, 2011
Public Speaking Workshop, 2011
Bodybuilding posing classes, 2010
Stage Combat class, 2007

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Softball, 2010
Bodybuilding, 2010

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

Other than my parents the one person who has been a great influence on my life is my friend Lisa Woolgar. She is a single mother of three, a business owner/operator, and a competitive bodybuilder. She makes no excuses, sees everything as an opportunity, and believes that you are the only person who can determine your happiness and success. Her attitude toward life is both encouraging and refreshing.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

The accomplishment that I am most proud of was competing in the NLABBA (Newfoundland Amateur Bodybuilding Association) Championships, Figure Model Category. I place second in this division. The preparation for this event took three months. I take pride in the fact that I was able to reach my goal and dedicate three months of preparation to accomplish it.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing about me would have to be my sense of humor and that I tend to speak my mind. Something interesting that happened to me? I got hit by a truck last summer while biking and walked away with only a cut on my hand. But you should see the truck!

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My long-term career goal is to become a Social Worker and work in the field of Child Protection. I am almost finished my Bachelor of Arts Degree which has helped me develop strong communication skills. I am also involved with a lot of volunteer work, which gives me the opportunity develop new skills, confidence, and learn more about myself so I will be better prepared for the field.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be one where I could make a positive difference and feel successful. I do not believe money buys happiness, but I would like a job that supports my love of travel.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Area of study:

Bachelor of Arts majoring in English and Religious Studies.

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

Personal Trainer at TW Fitness

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

My parents are Pentecostal Pastors. Because of this we have moved around quite a bit in a short period of time. I have lived in eight different communities across Newfoundland and Labrador. Moving around was sometimes difficult as a child, but it has helped me become the person I am today. I have a nuclear family with one sister. We are very close, and always agree to communicate about everything. I have a lot of great memories from my childhood. My mom is very creative, making birthdays, Christmas, Easter, Halloween, and family trips exciting and memorable.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

One summer, I worked on a Church project, and was tasked with painting the chuch (outide!)

List any volunteering you have done.

10 years of volunteering with a number of church-organized functions
2-week trip to Malawi, Africa volunteering in an orphanage
3 years of volunteering at Memorial University
4 months planning Memorial’s largest event -- orientation
CBC Radio Telethon Volunteer
TCP Healthcare Foundation volunteer
Beagle Paws volunteer

What is your most unusual talent?

Comedy. I love to laugh but I love making others laugh more!

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

Malawi, Africa. What was most interesting, was the maturity of the children -- they were left to raise their younger siblings as if they were adult care-givers. I witnessed a six year-old girl taking her infant sibling to the hospital -- it was incredible.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years I hope to be a successful Social Worker, and hopefully have some of my writing published.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

As a spirited young woman, I like to be involved in the community. While this has proven to introduce me to new opportunities and avenues to develop skills, I have learned that dedicating yourself to too many causes often results in you giving less than your best. I am dedicated to my job, school, and community but I think it is better to give your best to everything you’re involved in as opposed to commiting half-heartedly. Before I seek a new challenge I make sure I have the time and energy to see it through to completion so I know I can give my best attention and effort.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".