Kesiah Papasin - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Kesiah Papasin

Kesiah Papasin | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 21

Height: 5'7"

Hometown: Etobicoke

BIO: Kesiah Kathleen Liane Papasin is 21 years old, born and raised in Toronto, Ontario. When she was 13, while attending the 2004 Canadian Model and Talent Convention (CMTC) in Toronto, Kesiah met Natalie Glebova, Miss Universe 2005.

She was captured by Miss Glebova’s beauty and determination. Inspired and motivated by her, joining pageants became Kesiah’s passion.

She remembers Miss Glebova saying, “You should join pageants and if you lose, try again till you win”. Kesiah has won several awards and titles since.

Kesiah was born with unilateral clubfoot and moderate hearing loss. She had to wear corrective braces for a year and both ears are currently aided.

She registered herself in the Eleanor Fulcher International modeling workshop to boost her self confidence. One can say that Kesiah achieved the purpose of this workshop, her teacher and friends once described her as “social butterfly”.

Kesiah did not let her physical challenges hinder her dreams and goals in life.

She took ballet, tap, jazz and modern dance classes. She and her older brother were partners in ballroom dancing lessons, which came to halt when her brother decided that ballroom dancing was not for him. She also took private lessons in Tahitian dancing. She joined various local swimming competitions till age 16. She received gold and silver medals to prove her swimming abilities. In high school, she excelled in sports when she came out first and broke school records in Women High Jump Junior.

Kesiah is currently in her 3rd year in Health Studies at York University aspiring to be a Physician’s Assistant. She is inspired by her parents and older brother, who are all nurses. She works every summer at a bank to help finance her dreams.

Raised in a close knit and religious family, Kesiah learned at an early age not to be judgmental and dislikes stereotyping. She believes in equal opportunity and treatment for everyone. She also believes in sharing her blessings by volunteering in fund raising activities for the underprivileged. She gives them support and respect. She remains a good role model and a proud mentor for aspiring young models.

She loves to travel. She admires the exotic nature of Hawaii, the lifestyle in Italy, the hospitality of people in the Philippines and the clean environment in Australia. Kesiah hopes to have the opportunity to continue traveling and mingling with various peoples and cultures and to be able to contribute and participate in uplifting lives and spirits.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

I speak fluent English and I can understand very little Tagalog, Philippine language. I studied Portuguese language but because I have never used it for a long time, I’m not sure if I can communicate with it.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Sports -- I love swimming; I like to keep myself fit; I like to do cardio exercises. I love music. Listening to music makes me relax. Reading books puts me in contact with nature, the environment and people, and you can learn something from everyone.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

- I studied ballet, tap, jazz, and modern dances for 4 years at Masaryk Hall from 4 years of age.

- I studied singing for 1 year when I was 10 years old.

- I attended fashion workshop at Eleanor Fulcher when I was 11 yrs of age for six months and received a certificate for it.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I competed in swimming from 4 -16 yrs of age, also track and field and High jump in High school.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

Honestly, it would be hard to narrow it down to a single person. As a child, by far my grandfather. He taught me love, and nurture. My grandfather together with my grandmother taught me faith; he taught me trust through his actions. I could always count on him. There are days, even as old as I am, that I would love to sit in his lap and have a word or two with him. I always knew everything would be ok. He was my #1 fan.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest personal accomplishment is learning how to drive. I got my G1 when I was 16 yrs of age and I am now 21 and still holding the same G1. With my father’s guidance, I am able to get from A to B.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing that has ever happened to me, besides standing here, was winning one of the pageants and was sent to the Philippines as my award all expenses paid, plane tickets, hotel, 2 gowns, everyday make-up and hairstylist. There were 4 of us in the hotel room, went to bed at 3 AM and woke up at 5 am for rehearsal and appearances, yet full of fun and nice experiences. I was the only delegate who came from outside of the Philippines and made it to the top 15 semi-finals, along with winning the best skin award.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

To seek a career with opportunity for job growth and continue to develop skills in medical field, hopefully able to get accepted in Physician’s Assistance course and work in one of the hospitals here in Toronto.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

Confucius said, “Find a job you enjoy, and you’ll never work a day in your life.” Dreams come in all shapes and sizes. Follow my dream, which is working at the hospital as a Physician’s Assistance. A dream job includes not only what you want to do, but who you are doing it with.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

York University

Area of study:

Health Studies

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was born and raised in Etobicoke. My childhood was awesome. I have the best memories. I had so much fun as a child. My brother, myself and my cousins would have a great time running around. Our parents would take us camping and fishing. We would go almost every day to the beach. No worries at all. No chores, no work and always carefree. My parents did not spoil me but my grandparents did. I was busy with extracurricular activities such as dancing lessons, singing lessons (which lasted a year), and swimming lessons and competitions. In brief, I had a very normal childhood and upbringing, I would say.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

Regarding unusual jobs, I remember helping my mother when I was 12 or 13 yrs. old, with her part time job, writing names, printing papers, and getting paid a buck or two for each name or for photocopy.

List any volunteering you have done.

I volunteered for Fiesta Filipina Dance Troupe by teaching the Miss Manila delegates how to walk for the pageant. I also volunteered for IPEN doing same thing. I did a fashion show for homeless children in the Philippines on behalf of PIDC.

What is your most unusual talent?

I can bend the first joint of my fingers on both hands.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

I was in Italy when I was in Grade 10. I was in Milan, Amalfi Island, Rome, Venice and Florence. There are 3 words to describe Italy: historic, passionate and colourful. Culture, art and history are everywhere. Italians are passionate about everything. Everywhere is colorful. Landscape is colour saturated. The light in Venice is unlike any other places I have ever seen before, making it a photographer’s dream come true. Italy is filled with interesting culture and absolutely beautiful scenery, with lots of history. They had never heard of “Alfredo Sauce”! Their food is much lighter, and less in a serving, and not as much pasta as I was expecting.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

I will be 31 then. I don’t know what I will be doing, but I know I want to work with people. If I ever become a Physician’s Assistance, I’d like to broaden my horizon and probably increase my skills in university, I’m interested in taking classes in sociology and psychology to learn what some of the options are. I will be going for a vacation in places I have never seen before. I see myself having a place of my own.

What makes you unique and different from the other contestants?

I strongly believe that we are all basically the same. I think it is how we think and approach certain situation in everyday life is what makes us all different and unique. I’ve always been true to myself, and I never try to be somebody I’m not. Fundamentally, we are all young ladies entering this pageant with the same purpose of winning Miss Universe Canada.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".