Haley Draper - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Haley Draper

Haley Draper | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 22

Height: 5'6"

Hometown: London

BIO: Haley recently graduated from the University of Windsor, Ontario where she achieved her Honours Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree.

Haley currently is working full time as a Registered Nurse at the University Hospital in London, Ontario, and at St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital in St. Thomas, Ontario.

Haley believes that she has a very rewarding career, as she is able to help other people and their families every day.

She has a very caring, loving and kind attitude and enjoys putting smiles on other people’s faces. She has touched many lives of people in her community with her dedicated work and positive, outgoing personality.

Haley also is a very active young lady. She loves doing things outdoors such as rollerblading, swimming, playing tennis, volleyball and golf.

She enjoys playing many different sports and staying fit. At the age of three, she tried on her first pair of hockey skates and never stopped loving the Canadian game.

She began playing competitive hockey at the age of nine and by the age of seventeen she was selected and played on a Junior AA Woman’s hockey team. She loves the game of hockey, and loves being part of a team. She believes in sportsmanship, being a team player and working together. She continued to play hockey while studying at University.

Haley is very passionate about teaching and helping others. She has volunteered at local hockey schools and camps, teaching young children hockey skills and how to skate. Haley anticipates coaching a woman’s hockey team in the future. In addition, she has also had the opportunity to volunteer at a youth group centre where she was an active group leader, providing guidance and advice to young adults in the community.

She helped these young individuals identify what their individual goals were, and how to pursue their dreams. She leads by example and is always setting goals for herself and striving to achieve them. One of her goals in life is to continue her education and obtain her Masters Degree in Nursing in the future. She loves helping people in her community and loves to participate and assist in charity events.

Haley believes in living life to the fullest. She is very thankful for her family and friends who are always supporting her through her life decisions and while obtaining her goals. Haley embraces any new opportunities to help others and seeks to create a positive difference in people’s lives.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My major interests in life are playing sports and being physically active. I love doing things outdoors such as swimming, rollerblading, biking, or playing tennis, volleyball and golf. My favourite sport to play would definitely be hockey. I love being part of a team, and I have been playing hockey since I was three years old. I also love being able to teach and instruct younger children how to skate and fundamental skills of the game. In addition to playing sports, I enjoy spending time with family and friends. All of the best memories and moments are spent with family and friends, and I am truly blessed to have such amazing friends and family.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I have a passion for music, all different types. One of my goals in life was to learn how to play acoustic guitar, and I began taking lessons at the age of twenty. I currently play during my spare time to relax and I really enjoy playing for my friends and family.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Ever since I was a child, I have always been very athletic. I began playing hockey at the age of three, and I have never stopped loving the Canadian game. I started playing competitive hockey at the age of seven, and by the age of seventeen I was recruited on a Junior AA Woman’s hockey team. I was offered a position at the University level but decided to focus on my education. I continue to play hockey in the summer in a woman’s league. I also played soccer, volleyball and baseball in elementary school and continued to play volleyball in high school and in University intramurals. In the summer I also enjoy playing recreational golf and tennis with friends and family.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

One of the most influential people in my life would have to be my grandmother. My grandmother became a widow and a single parent of three in her mid forties. My grandmother is a very strong, independent woman. She has taught me that I am able to reach my dreams and achieve my goals with hard work and dedication. She has taught me that no dream is too big and that nothing is impossible. My grandmother has a heart of gold, and she is always willing to help others. She is always optimistic and I love spending time with her. She is a wonderful woman.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

I think my proudest personal accomplishment would have to be graduating from the University of Windsor, Ontario with my Honorary Bachelor degree of Science in Nursing. I started University at the age of eighteen and I worked very hard studying for four years to accomplish my degree. I had a dream to go to University to become a Registered Nurse, and to finally achieve one of my biggest dreams is an enormous accomplishment for me.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing about me would have to be that I am very spontaneous. I am always seeking new challenges in my life and love experiencing new opportunities. I believe in living life to the fullest and enjoying every moment that passes.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

I am currently a Registered Nurse however, I would love to continue my education and grow as a professional. One of my next ambitions in life is to obtain my Masters Degree in Nursing (MSN) in the near future.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job in life would be to become a Nurse Practitioner. I would love for the opportunity to grow as a professional and obtain a higher level of education.

Are you currently employed?

I am currently employed full time as a Registered Nurse at University Hospital, in London, Ontario. I also work part time as a Registered Nurse at St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital, in St. Thomas, Ontario.

If yes, what is your occupation?

Registered Nurse

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was born in Kitchener, Ontario and at the age of three moved with my family to London, Ontario. As a child, I was very fortunate to grow up with an old brother. He taught me how to play several sports and he was always there for me, supporting me through my life decisions. My brother and I would always come home from school and play some kind of sport. It would most likely be road hockey on the street with our neighbours or basketball in our driveway. My brother and I loved playing outside. In the summer we would always go swimming in our backyard or even go biking around our neighborhood.

My parents were also very supportive of our active lifestyles and would either be driving us to our sports games or cheering for us in the crowd. When I began playing competitive hockey, my parents were very helpful and dedicated their time to driving me to my practices and hockey games out of town, which I am very appreciative of. My parents also taught both my brother and I, the importance of education and focusing on our goals. I always had the dream of going to University and my parents always encouraged and supported me along the journey of reaching that dream.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

I currently have one of the most interesting jobs that I have ever experienced in my life. I am a Registered Nurse at St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital on their Palliative Care Unit. This is a very hard and challenging job in itself, but it is also one of the most rewarding jobs and has been life changing. I have the opportunity to take care of individuals at their end stage of life. It is rewarding to have a family member thank you for being there for them and for making a difference. It makes you feel like you are having a positive impact on someone else’s life, which is very rewarding. It brings me joy when I am able to put a smile on someone’s face, and to overall, help individuals and their families through some of their toughest times.

List any volunteering you have done.

I am very passionate about teaching and helping others. I have volunteered at numerous hockey schools and camps, teaching young children everything from how to skate to fundamental skills of the game. Most recently I have had the opportunity to volunteer at a youth group centre where I was a group leader, providing guidance and advice to young adults in the community.

What is your most unusual talent?

One of my most unusual talents would have to be that I am able to complete the triple deke hockey move performed by Charlie Conway in the movie Mighty Ducks.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

The most interesting place that I have ever visited was when I was fourteen years old and I went on a family vacation to Dominican Republic. It was the first time that I had been to a third world country and I could not believe some of the living conditions that some of the people there had to live in. After seeing the different living conditions and how different the country was from Canada, it made me want to help people in any way that I can. It has been a dream of mine to become a travel nurse and visit third world countries to try and help these individuals by improving their health or living conditions.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years, I hope to be helping individuals on a higher level. I hope to have further developed my career and to have gained more community work experience. I have the dream to become a Nurse Practitioner and hopefully have the opportunity to experience travel nursing. I love to volunteer, whether I am teaching, providing advice or guidance, or providing medical or supportive assistance to individuals or families in need. I love participating in charity events to help support a good cause and to further benefit people in the community.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".