Jennifer Skroch - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Jennifer Skroch

Jennifer Skroch | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 21

Height: 5'7"

Hometown: Calgary

BIO: Born and raised in Calgary, Alberta Jennifer Skroch is a very positive and motivated person, and is dedicated to her friends and family and the goals she sets for her self.

A motto that she likes to go by is that “you miss 100% of the chances you never take” she believes that you should always go after what you want no matter the obstacle that stands in your way.

Having both parents originally from the Czech Republic, she is fluent in both Czech and English, and loves to learn and meet new people of all ethnicities.

This past year she has travelled back home to Czech to see her family and also vacationed to Cancun in which she fell in love with the culture. Jennifer hopes to one day move to mexico for year and become fluent in spanish.

Currently a hair dresser, she enjoys being creative and is interested in all that is fashion. Her other interests include hiking, going for runs, reading and spending time with her friends and family.

Going to the gym daily Jennifer likes to maintain an active life style, she feels that it is very important to look good and feel good from the inside out.

Going into this competition and having little experience in pageants she feels that it is a great opportunity to experience something new and exciting as well as a chance to be able to represent her home country.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

Czech was my first language and English was my second I am fluent in both.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I like to keep active so I go to the gym daily as well as kick box and go for hikes in the summer time. I just started to read again in which I am trying to teach myself spanish. I love to travel as well as meet new people and spending time with my family is also a big part of my life.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I have not had any special training except for taking dance for 2 years through my highschool which included hip hop, jazz, modern and salsa.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I currently do kick boxing and I use to be involved in long distance running in my Junior high school.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

I would have to say my best friend Merima who has always been there for me, she is a strong person and has such a positive outlook on life no matter the things that have happened to her and I really admire that and have learned to always look at the glass half full rather than half empty. I believe the key to life is all about an individuals attitude and how they perceive and react to the obstacles and negativity in they’re lives.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

It would have to be going into the Miss Calgary competition prior to the Miss Universe Canada.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing that has ever happened to me would have to be when I was about 7 years old and my family and I went to Hornby Island to visit friends and after a massive storm. We found a baby seal, which after a couple of days, we decided to take it back to Calgary with us where we then took it to the zoo and got to be on the news.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

I am currently a hair dresser in the city of Calgary which will become official when I write my exams amd gain my license. I also really want to travel to as many places as I possibly can around the world before I settle down in whatever I decide to do at that time.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

I would like to be self employed and start my own clothing line, I feel that I am creative and have a lot of ideas that I can put forth in the fashion industry.

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

A hair dresser/ Assistant

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was born and raised in Calgary but I have had several opportunities in which I got to travel to places such as the Czech Republic, where my parents are from, as well as Florida Mexico, Vancouver, Vegas ,Winnipeg and Seattle. I grew up in a very supportive home my parents have always been there for me in everything I did and I have always had a very exciting life style.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

I have not had any unusual jobs but I have worked at Bernard Callebaut at the airport, Chili’s Texas Grill and now at Avenue Hair.

List any volunteering you have done.

I have not yet been involved in any major volunteering but would really like to become more hands on and familiar with it.

What is your most unusual talent?

I know everybody has a unique talent but I just believe that I have yet to discover mine.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

Out of some of my travels I really enjoyed Cancun I have been there twice and I love everything about it the culture, food , people as well as the beautifully colored ocean.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

I have never really thought that far in advance but I would like to be married in ten years with hopefully still being able to occasionally travel and have a good career that I enjoy.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".