Ella Law - Miss Universe Canada 2012 Profile

Miss Universe Canada 2012 Ella Law

Ella Law | Miss Universe Canada 2012

Age: 26

Height: 5'5"

Hometown: Edmonton

BIO: Ella Law graduated from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Commerce degree majoring in Business Law & Economics and Strategic Management.

Utilizing her business skills and her passion for helping others, she is now working as a Mortgage Advisor.

She hopes to one day join a non-profit organization that helps children suffering from illness and have her determination be an inspiration to those affected.

In her spare time, Ella enjoys leading an active lifestyle, which includes activities such as hot yoga, swimming, and jogging. Ella values the cohesiveness of family.

She loves spending time with her family and friends, sharing conversations and learning new recipes with her mom.

Ella is strongly inspired by philanthropic Canadian leaders such as the late Lois Hole, previous Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Ella wishes to model Lois’s love of learning and humanitarianism.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

I speak English and Cantonese fluently with moderate knowledge of Mandarin, which I studied in University.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I’m very passionate in networking with various local organizations. I enjoy being a part of the fashion community of Edmonton and have been involved in the Edmonton fashion shows, the Bridal Fantasy, and the Festival of Trees.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Piano, Flute, Dance – ballet, lyrical, modern, hip-hop, ballroom

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Activities I enjoy are: hot yoga, swimming, jogging and skiing.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

Aside from my parents, my sister is the other person who has the most influence on my life. My sister inspires me to follow my heart and I can always count on her. She is the person I can trust who would always be there for me and we shared our whole life together until recently when she moved for her career. I think that is so admirable because despite that she has the comfort and love from family, she follows her heart and dreams to pursue her career. That confidence and strength influences me to be who I am today. She motivates me to pursue my dreams. My dream is to create awareness for help that is needed and to be an ambassador of Canada so I can apply my skills to make an impact for those in need.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest moment in life so far aside from being a part of this pageant, was when I was promoted to being the youngest Mortgage Development Manager on the team and was promoted only after 6 months of being on the job!

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing about me is that when I was growing up, I had a pet bunny named Bell. I used to take her on walks around the block with a leash and took her in my backpack where ever I went. The funny thing is that Bell was addicted to spaghetti and use to jump spin for it.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career ambition is to join a non-for-profit business which shares my passion for improving the world. I receive so much enjoyment helping others and I would love to work for an organization striving to make our world a better place to live in. My plan to achieve this goal is to build a strong network of resources and contacts by participating in events related to the causes I support.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My “dream job” in life is to improve happiness in lives of others along with having time to spend with family and loved ones.

Are you currently a student?

I graduated from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Commerce degree in Business Law & Economics and minor in Strategic Management.

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I am a Mortgage Advisor and Manager of a cosmetic line.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I am proud to be a first generation Chinese Canadian and childhood in Canada was amazing because Canada is truly a multicultural country. Canada is very accepting of every nationality and even though my family lives in North America, we are still very happy to be able to keep our traditions and identity and still be Canadians!

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

Mortgage Advisor, because I meet different people every time and every person has a different story behind their financial situation, which makes my job by far the most interesting and flavorful in bringing a complete application to process.

List any volunteering you have done.

- Festival of Trees

- Bridal Fantasy

- Edmonton Fashion Show

- University of Alberta Hospital – Emergency and Visitations

What is your most unusual talent?

I have very flexible joints in my hands.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

Tokyo, Japan

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

I hope to have made an impact by enriching other people’s lives through my community contributions.

* Back to Miss Universe Canada 2012 Contestants

* Special Thanks to Beauties of Canada


"To God be the Glory".